The Facts

District 39 -NJ

New Jersey's 39th Legislative District

is one of 40 in the state, encompassing portions of Bergen County and Passaic County.  The Bergen County Municipalities are Closter, Demarest, Dumont, Emerson, Harrington Park, Hillsdale, Mahwah , Montvale, Norwood , Oakland, Old Tappan, Park Ridge, Ramsey, River Vale Township, Saddle River, Upper Saddle River, Washington Township, Westwood, and Woodcliff Lake; and the Passaic County Municipalities are Bloomingdale, Ringwood, and Wanaque. [1]

New Jersey's 39th Legislative District - image provided by Mr. Matte'

New Jersey's 39th Legislative District - image provided by Mr. Matte'








Demographic charateristics 

As of the 2010 United States Census, the district had a population of 217,041, of whom 162,280 (74.8%) were of voting age. The racial makeup of the district was 176,496 (81.3%) White, 3,273 (1.5%) African American, 216 (0.1%) Native American, 29,836 (13.7%) Asian, 49 (0.0%) Pacific Islander, 3,685 (1.7%) from some other race, and 3,486 (1.6%) from two or more races. Hispanic or Latino of any race were 16,408 (7.6%) of the population.[2]  The district had 156,894 registered voters as of December 31, 2016, of whom 71,203 (45.4%) were registered as unaffiliated, 44,889 (28.6%) were registered as Republicans, 40,414 (25.6%) were registered as Democrats, and 388 (0.2%) were registered to other parties.[3]

The district, which covers most of Northern Bergen County, has the smallest African-American population of any district in the state and ranks 31st in the number of Hispanic residents, while it has the ninth highest percentage of Asian residents. At 0.3% it has the lowest percentage of children receiving Temporary Assistance for Needy Families aid, just over 5% of the state average. The district ranked second-highest in both equalized property value and personal income on a per capita basis.[4][5]


Apportionment history

Throughout most of the district's history since 1973, the year the 40-district legislative map was created in New Jersey, the 39th District has encompassed the small affluent boroughs and townships in northeast Bergen County. In the re-districtings of 1981 and 1991, only a few municipalities were added and removed to get the district's population close to one fortieth of the state's population as required under the Reynolds v. Sims ruling.[8][9][10]

Changes to the district made as part of the New Jersey Legislative apportionment in 2001 removed Englewood Cliffs Borough and Tenafly Borough (to the 37th Legislative District added Oradell Borough (from the 38th Legislative District) and Waldwick Borough and Washington Township (from the 40th Legislative District).[11}

Changes to the district made as part of the New Jersey Legislative apportionment in 2011 removed several Bergen County municipalities and added portions of Passaic County and northwest Bergen County.[1]



  1.  Districts by NumberNew Jersey Legislature. Accessed October 28, 2011.
  2. DP-1. Profile of General Population and Housing Characteristics: 2010, 2010 Demographic Profile DataUnited States Census Bureau. Accessed June 13, 2016.
  3.  Statewide Voter Registration SummaryNew Jersey Department of State, December 31, 2016. Accessed January 8, 2017.
  4. District 39 ProfileRutgers University. Accessed October 22, 2010.
  5.  2005 New Jersey Legislative District Data BookEdward J. Bloustein School of Planning and Public Policy. p. 162.
  6. Legislative Roster 2016-2017 Session, New Jersey Legislature. Accessed January 17, 2016.
  7. District 39 Legislators, New Jersey Legislature. Accessed January 17, 2016.
  8.  "New Jersey Legislative Districts 1974–" (PDF). New Jersey Legislative Services Agency. 1973. Retrieved August 1, 2015.
  9.  "New Jersey Legislative Districts" (PDF). 1981. Retrieved August 1, 2015.
  10.  "1991 Legislative Districts" (PDF). 1991. Archived from the original (PDF) on March 4, 2016. Retrieved August 1, 2015.
  11.  Legislative DistrictsNew Jersey Legislature, backed up by the Internet Archive as of December 6, 1998. Accessed October 22, 2010.